GDPR Privacy Policy
Junior Cricket
Club shop now open at
ECB guidance on use of Helmets
For The Aspiring Scorers Among Us!
200 Club Winners Oct 2018
A Higson £9
P Gordon £18
T Ross £63

Evening League Match Report

Fisko Team
Opposition   Caunton
Date   02/07/2009
Location   Away
Result   Lost
The Toss   Won
Fiskerton   90  for  6
Opposition   92  for  1
Points   0
Man of Match   Ben Carr
Cpt Calamity  
Match Report  

A fantastic evening for cricket (if not a bit too hot), and the captain calamity award was decided before we even started. Richard Nevin (standing in as we only had 10) turned up with no trousers. This was put down to Elaine Nevin having burnt all his kit in an effort to stop this sort of thing chance of that as Rich took to the field in his shorts!

Having won the toss the skipper decided to put us in to bat with Neil (Bruno the Brighton warrier) Davey and Max Danby opening the batting. With none scored from Neil's first 7 balls he nicked the strike with a single off the last ball (the groans could be heard from every corner of the ground). Neil later described the over as "the hardest over he'd ever had to face in 30 year of professional cricket". His words not mine. Max dedparted shortly after without troubling the scorers and Neil made possibly the slowest 11 ever known in Evening league cricket (7 OVERS!) Ben Carr and Collo went in next and steadied the innings with some sensible cricket, Carr with a MOTM 23 and Collo with 22. Dan Collo decided to have a good look at the bowling when he finally came in, dispatching him for 6 to sqaure leg first ball! He made a quick fire 15 off just 6 balls before being bowled. It then came down to Akers for the final over and i managed a repectable 9 off 4 balls, including a big six back over the bowlers head (if you thought i wasnt going to mention it you must be deluded.....they dont come around often!). Phil Z the other batsman at the end playing for his average with 1*! A respectable 90 for 6.....or at least we thought it respectable.

That was until their two openers put on 70 for the first wicket! Some bowling figures make for uncomfortable reading. S Collo 0 for 17 off 1 over, Phil Z 0 for 12 off 1 over, I Wilkinson (who bowled better than his figures suggest) 0 for 18 off 2 overs. The pick of the attack M Nevin 0 for 11 off 2 and S Holt 0 for 8 off 2. So with the game nearly gone Collo throws the ball to Akers in a last ditch attempt (or was it he didnt want the winning runs hit off his bowling?!). With his second ball Akers gots the only wicket bowling D Tilbury for 22 with one that nipped back and hit middle stump (No really!!). Personally i was scepticle about the fightback....and how right i was with the new batsman hitting the winning runs off the final 3 balls of the over. T Eastwood finishing 48* and M Wilson 5*. Game over.

I would like to wish Caunton well in the final where its almost nailed on that they will face Balderton. I hope they can go one better than we could last year......Good Luck!

Report by   Ed Akers
Our Sponsors

Cricket League Links
Weather Forecast